Sedona Staffing Site
Sedona Technologies Site
Sedona Medical Site
The Sedona Group - WQAD SOAR Scholarship Program. Every year The Sedona Group gives a $1000 cash scholarship to five deserving recipients, called the SOAR Awards. This SOAR scholarship is a collaboration with Sedona, WQAD and hosted by Angie Sharp. High school seniors submit an application identifying how their lives exemplify the 4 attributes of SOAR; Strength Optimism Achievement and Resolve. A panel of Sedona and WQAD representatives selects the 5 winners from over 200 applicants.
The SOAR concept came from Kyle John, Seona President Rick John's son, while he was battling a rare form of cancer called Ewing's Sarcoma - A battle he ultimately lost at the age of 27. Kyle developed the theme for this award as part of Sedona's 25th anniversary celebration. SOAR became his legacy. Kyle’s life embodied the characteristics of SOAR, and so do all of our winners. That is why Sedona chooses to recognize them with this scholarship.
Use the included links to watch the winner's stories. We think you will agree that each of them is deserving of this recognition and truly exemplifies the SOAR spirit.

2018 $1000 Bonus SOAR Award. For the first time Sedona asked social media followers and WQAD viewers to decide which one of the five SOAR recipients would receive an additional $1000 award. Nearly 1000 voters responded and the winner was Emma Kelchen of Bellevue High School in Bellevue, IA. Congratulations Emma! Thank you to everyone who voted.

Applying for future SOAR Scholarships. All 2018 scholarships have been awarded and the application period has ended. Please follow The Sedona Group on Facebook and Twitter Twitter to get updates about future scholarships. You can also check The Sedona Group Website and look for updates on WQAD television as the new information becomes available.

#1 Clare VanSpeybroeck

#2 Mandee Kunkel

#3 Mary Baril

#4 Grace Johann


#5 Emma Kelchen